KRAKOW / LONDON INTERLUDE

Publié le par Tony White

 

 

 

 

 

KRAKOW / LONDON   INTERLUDE

 

I had 24 hours in Krakow, a city I love. It was Sunday morning.

I strolled around the green belt that encircles the old town center.IMGP8331.JPGIMGP8349IMGP8350.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8449

 

 

IMGP8450.JPG

IMGP8336

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

back past the theatre


IMGP8325.JPGto the Barbakan (barbican!), which is also a cultural center

and opposite the Art Academy where I had arranged to meet

Adam.

 

IMGP8362.JPGIMGP8367.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Being Rector of the Academy,

Sunday morning is the one time of the week Adam gets to spend in his studio, overlooking the town. Shortly after we got there, a friend of Adam's arrived and we passed two or three hours nibbling biscuits, drinking coffee and talking, talking, talking. Delightful. Adam is always full of energy and eager to show you things, pictures, references.

IMGP8354.JPGI took a couple of timid snaps, but was too shy to photograph the man.

Afterwards, when I told him, he laughed and said "next time!"

 


Then he drove me to the Jewish quarter and left me to wander.

 

 

IMGP8396.JPGIt was a little late for the market, but there was still much to see

IMGP8371

 

IMGP8379

 

IMGP8381

 

 

IMGP8386.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8374

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8384

 

The fruit stall, the pecking pigeons, the young people at the snack bar -

I was feeling hungry

 

 

 

IMGP8390.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8394 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fortunately, restaurants in Poland do not close during the afternoon as they do in France, so I could take my time and look around


IMGP8397-copie-1.JPG2.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8399.JPG

 

IMGP8400--2-.jpg

IMGP8400.JPG 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  The "tired plates" didn't inspire me but I

was tempted by the "leafy" ones

 

 

 

 

IMGP8401IMGP8408

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8402.JPG

 

this street is very famous


IMGP8403.JPGIMGP8407

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8407--2-.jpg


 

no rush ...

 

IMGP8410.JPGIMGP8413

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8418.JPGapparently Spielberg shot some of "Schindler's List" here

IMGP8417.JPGIMGP8419.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8412.JPGAH, now the Cracow Sop didn't grab me but I spotted something else ...

IMGP8422.JPG

Yes, a salatki with dried tomatoes ...



IMGP8426.JPGIMGP8430.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

with some white wine, perfect ... now, those notes ...

 

 


and afterwards, remember

IMGP8438.JPGmind the tram!IMGP8433.JPG

though I'm not sure where I am

IMGP8443.JPG


oh, there, OK,

 

IMGP8445.JPGwell I think I'll head for the river and walk lunch off

past the castle (lots of bricks)

IMGP8476.JPG

 

 

IMGP8483.JPG

 

IMGP8482.JPG


IMGP8488IMGP8491.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

remembering to be watchful for bladers on

the cycle path

 

 

 

and grateful to INFOKRAKOW for telling me where the TOALETY were

 

IMGP8489.JPG

 

 

then back to city center to see what folks were up to there

IMGP8492

 

 

along the way I noticed that French electricity is supporting Polish culture,

good good good, (EDF = Electricité De France)

 

IMGP8498.JPG


ah, I see it's time to get out the traditional costumes


IMGP8313.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8311.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and Adam isn't the only one who carries a dachshund around

IMGP8351.JPG

 

 

 

IMGP8459.JPG

IMGP8465.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and of the poor and lonely I saw very

little, whether by scarcity or regulation

I know not

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8502-skull.JPG

 

among the exhibition panels outside the university I noticed

an image that jogged my memory

 

but I was reassured by the cycling first-aid team

 

IMGP8510.JPG

 

tomorrow London ...

 

 

where I got to see two of my boys,

Justin and Otto, a real treat,

IMGP8531.JPG

 

though poor Otto was having a relapse, the nephrotic syndrome had

taken off again and he was in a bad way, putting on

something like 20 kilos in ten days (water)

 

IMGP8526.JPG

 

booked myself on a flight back to Poland for the Hucisku symposium

then over to see friend Fawzi to work on the translations of his poetry from

Arab to English, with a deadline for the Salzburg University's Poetry Review

 

IMGP8542.JPGLike Adam Wsiolkowski, Fawzi Karim is witty and intelligent, charming and

generous. I am very lucky to have friends with these qualities. I wonder if it has anything to do with the modest backgrounds we share?

 IMGP8545.JPG

 

This is a photo of Fawzi (on the left) with his brothers, taken in Bagdhad.


Besides the poetry, he has used his memories of Bagdhad as the

source for his paintingsIMGP8536.JPG

 

IMGP8535--2-.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8535

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8533

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8549

 

 

and after toiling with words and savouring Fawzi's cuisine,

there is his dainty English garden with the Bramley tree he planted,

thinking it was a variety of eating apple

IMGP8541.JPG

 

 

there to put my bare feet in the grass

before departure

 

IMGP8539.JPG

Publié dans Articles

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article